Bill Devon on Jayne Mansfield

Recently the magician Bill Devon was interviewed by Newsreview.com. When he got the question of his favourite moment in his career he told this little story:

In 1967, Jayne Mansfield was in Sacramento, and she was appearing at a local nightclub on Auburn Boulevard, the Cleopatra Club.She was the guest of honor, and they had me perform. They introduce me, and I do my dove act, and the main audience is in front of me, but behind me is the guest-of-honor table. And that’s where Jayne Mansfield is sitting. So I produce a dove and every time I produce a dove, my assistant would walk past me and pass Jayne. And Jayne would want to pet the dove. I didn’t know that, I found out later.About the fourth dove I produce, the audience in front is just laughing. I didn’t know what it was until after the show was over. They told me: “Do you know what everyone was laughing at?”I go, “No.”[Someone] says, “Jayne wanted to pet your doves. Well, that poor dove pooped in her fruit cocktail!”

image

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

